Since 2013 we have awarded a perpetual trophy in memory of Jack King called the Merrythought Trophy. This beautiful half-hull trophy is hung in our office.

The purpose of this award is to reward deserving youth participating in Charleston Community Sailing programs. Recipients of this award should display superior character, sportsmanship, and love of the sport. Nominations for the award will be accepted from coaches, instructors, school advisors, or other sailing community members and should include name and writeup as to why they are deserving. The recipients (male and female) will receive a keeper trophy.

This perpetual trophy is awarded annually at our Annual Fundraiser.

Past Recipients:

2022:  Andrea C. Melnik & Langdon S. Wallace

2021: Mason L. Baird & Carson M. Shaw
2019: Camdyn R. Williams & Arthur M. Unger
2018: Frances J. Hart & Edward W. Fleuren III
2017: Britton S. Durst & Ann B. Sheridan
2016: Sarah C. DeLoach & Jack E. McKenzie
2015: Margaux M. Bacro-Duverger & John M. Sutton
2014: Caroline P. Puckette & William M. Scarborough
2013: Mary L. Kerrison & Todd M. Fanning

Nominate a CCS Youth Sailor TODAY by emailing to!  Be sure to include full name and details why they are deserving of this trophy.